Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins

Available in hardcover, ebook, and audio formats

Paperback available September 5, 2017



shallowgraves.jpg

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

 

Praise for Shallow Graves

A Junior Library Guild Selection

New York Public Library Best Teen Books of 2016

Chicago Public Library Best Teen Books of 2016

Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Books of 2016

 

ALA Booklist Starred Review

"It’s a fast-paced story with an interesting hook, and a thoughtful look at what it means to be human versus what it means to be a monster. The end result is a superbly crafted debut bound to entrance."

 

Kirkus Reviews

"Constantly entertaining, intriguing, and suspenseful."

 

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Instead of traversing the well-worn path of ghostly vengeance, the story offers a portrait of a girl grieving her former life and wrestling with her new existence."

 

Kendare Blake, author of Three Dark Crowns

“Kali Wallace’s Shallow Graves is a stunner, set in a world filled with monsters both real and imagined, where something bad lives in every shadow. Good thing Wallace’s heroine is tough enough to take on the worst. Gripping, gory, and insightful.”
 

Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

“A fast-paced ride through a dark, imaginative world.”
 

Kimberly Derting, author of The Body Finder series

“A phenomenally written, spine-chilling story, Kali Wallace’s Shallow Graves is sure to keep you up all night.”  
 

Madeleine Roux, New York Times bestselling author of the Asylum series

Kali Wallace has created a world that's both natural and unsettling... This is world building at its best, creative, fleshed out and organically developed chapter by chapter... In the tradition of Clive Barker's Nightbreed, the book is filled to overflowing with supernatural misfits both delightful and spooky. And like all good horror writers, Wallace reminds us with Breezy's story that true terror is not a monster, but what lurks in the dark corners of human nature.