Shallow Graves

Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins

shallowgraves.jpg

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

 

Praise for Shallow Graves

"It’s a fast-paced story with an interesting hook, and a thoughtful look at what it means to be human versus what it means to be a monster. The end result is a superbly crafted debut bound to entrance."

ALA Booklist Starred Review

"Constantly entertaining, intriguing, and suspenseful."

Kirkus Reviews

"Instead of traversing the well-worn path of ghostly vengeance, the story offers a portrait of a girl grieving her former life and wrestling with her new existence."

-- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

 

A Junior Library Guild Selection

“Kali Wallace’s Shallow Graves is a stunner, set in a world filled with monsters both real and imagined, where something bad lives in every shadow. Good thing Wallace’s heroine is tough enough to take on the worst. Gripping, gory, and insightful.” — Kendare Blake, author of Anna Dressed in Blood and Antigoddess
“A fast-paced ride through a dark, imaginative world.” — Mindy McGinnis, author of Not a Drop to Drink and A Madness So Discreet
“A phenomenally written, spine-chilling story, Kali Wallace’s Shallow Graves is sure to keep you up all night.”  — Kimberly Derting, author of The Body Finder series
Kali Wallace has created a world that's both natural and unsettling... This is world building at its best, creative, fleshed out and organically developed chapter by chapter... In the tradition of Clive Barker's Nightbreed, the book is filled to overflowing with supernatural misfits both delightful and spooky. And like all good horror writers, Wallace reminds us with Breezy's story that true terror is not a monster, but what lurks in the dark corners of human nature.  — Madeleine Roux, New York Times bestselling author of the Asylum series

Buy Shallow Graves:

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Book Depository | Powell's

And in the UK:

HarperCollins UKAmazon UK | Waterstones | Foyles